Math Conversations in the cloud


VoiceThreads

When I had first starting teaching 16 years ago, I promised myself two things

1) If I ever reached the point that I no longer was enthusiastic about my work, that I would find a new job

2) That each year, I would try AT LEAST one new interesting project

Last year, the project was VoiceThreads:

This project was a big success for me. It was truly a mix of mathematics and social media. My 7th graders were very enthusiastic about participating in this activity. Most of them had access to computers and the internet at home. Some used microphones and a couple even used their video cam. Any student that did not have access could use the computer lab at school or the computer in my classroom.

I made up a very good tutorial on how to use VoiceThreads for the students. In my former life as a software engineer, I had created several user guides, so I know how to create a good one. If anyone is interested, I can post the user guide on my wiki:  cvjeremko.wikispaces.com.

The students had no trouble in using or accessing it.

What I especially liked about the project was that it:

  1. Required the students to solve a problem
  2. Required the students to communicate effectively
  3. Each student could see and comment on each other’s explanations.
  4. I had control over the comments before they were posted

Here are some of my examples:

Probability:  

Special Angle Pairs

Misleading Graphs

Next year, I would like to collaborate with another school somewhere in the world with a VoiceThread. If you are an educator and are interested, please let me know in a comment!

About CathyJeremko

I am a New York State Master Teacher and educator with 15+ years of teaching Mathematics. I have a special interest in technology in education. I am searching for the answers to the future of education, with the understanding that the manner of educating people is exponentially changing. A prospect is associated with the words anticipation, expectation, and looking forward. I am a prospector searching and exploring for the natural resources of people and ideas to improve life through education.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Education, General Education, Math Education, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

