Saying Goodbye to Talent

Today was the last day of school. There is always some happiness to have some unstructured well earned relaxation time, and also some melancholy as we say goodbye to students, retirees, and teachers who resign.

Yesterday, I learned that the Science teacher on my team has had enough of the politics that are surrounding teaching these days, and he has resigned to pursue other career options.

He was previously a biochemist who had the notion to better society by taking the vocation of educator. I can attest that this was a dedicated and competent teacher. He truly cared about his students. He could be firm with them and expected a lot of them, but he was always available to them at lunchtime and at planning times to offer assistance or just to be there for a student in need.

I am very excited and happy for him as he embarks on a new path. He has a lot of courage. He will surely be missed. I just wonder if this is just the start of the drain of true talent from the field of education.

For myself, I often times think of how else I can use my talents and experiences. It is very tempting to leave the teaching field. But, I am determined to keep up my enthusiasm for doing the very best I can for students, in spite of the state and societal pressures that interfere with the good work that I will accomplish. This blog, along with lots of pinning on Pinterest, are my attempts to renew my commitment after 16 years of teaching.

About CathyJeremko

I am a New York State Master Teacher and educator with 15+ years of teaching Mathematics. I have a special interest in technology in education. I am searching for the answers to the future of education, with the understanding that the manner of educating people is exponentially changing. A prospect is associated with the words anticipation, expectation, and looking forward. I am a prospector searching and exploring for the natural resources of people and ideas to improve life through education.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

