MVC-003F_flipped    This year, I have expanded my use of the flipped classroom in my 7th grade and 7 accelerated math classrooms. It has been a successful structure to use. Students, parents, administrators and support teachers have responded positively. Some of the benefits have been:

1)  Students can re-watch the lecture portion of a lesson as often as they need.

2)  Each student has a “front row” seat to lecture, and can alter the pace to their individual need.

3) Students who are absent from class have access to the introduction of concepts

4) The videos serve as additional review for tests, state tests, and the final

5) Parents can watch the lecture portion of class so that they have an idea of what their children are learning, of my style, and how to assist their children with the concept.

6)  Support teachers can access the videos to reinforce what is being taught in the classroom

7) More time in class to assess and assist individual students

8) More opportunities to differentiate instruction in the classroom.

I had tried a number of different methods to record the lessons. I started with a digital camera, and then proceeded to upload the video. I tried YouTube, but then had to find a new venue because my students cannot access YouTube through the school internet system. I then sent my videos to my Google drive and this worked fine.

Uploading camera video was a slow process; my internet provider gives most of the bandwidth to downloads and therefore uploads take time. I would have to let the videos upload overnight.

I set up links to the videos from my classroom wiki – see link above at the start of this post. After I had access to iPads, I started to use Educreations to make my videos. There was no room for editing on these videos, so I learned to just record and accept an error or two in the video. The process was quick and efficient and the videos are stored in the cloud on the Educreations website.

As I would like to be able to edit and control the videos, I am going to try using Explain Everything for new videos that I create, and plan to store them on my Google drive.

Shout-out to these two links in particular that were very helpful to me in starting my flipped class experience:

Lodge McCammon – NC State University

Peter Pappas

What questions do you have about the flipped classroom?

Do you have any experiences that you would like to share? I would love to collaborate!

About CathyJeremko

I am a New York State Master Teacher and educator with 15+ years of teaching Mathematics. I have a special interest in technology in education. I am searching for the answers to the future of education, with the understanding that the manner of educating people is exponentially changing. A prospect is associated with the words anticipation, expectation, and looking forward. I am a prospector searching and exploring for the natural resources of people and ideas to improve life through education.
Link | This entry was posted in Creative Ideas, Education, Flipped Classroom, General Education, iPads, Math Education, Photography, Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Team 7B math has flipped!

  1. Pingback: My flipped classroom experience: Old School / New School | education_prospector

Leave a Reply

