Goals for a New School Year – Revisited

A year and a half ago, I had set down some goals for the 2012-2013 school year. I thought that now, at the end of the 2013-2014 year, it is time to revisit and revise my goals.

Professionally:life camera

1)  Learn to effectively use twitter

I have learned a lot about twitter in the past two school years. I generally visit my twitter feed every day. I have come to recognize and respect several educators who regularly tweet. I have re-tweeted many links that I plan to go back to later to read, study and consider. I now use twitter to keep a pulse on what is trending both in education and in the world. I plan to participate more in collaboration with other teachers through twitter, and to encourage others to start tweeting.

2) Post on my blog at a minimum of twice each week – find more opportunities to communicate with other teachers through my blog

Unfortunately, I did not meet this goal – nowhere close. I am still determined to work on this goal. I find it very helpful to go back and reflect on my old posts, and just as I am doing with this post, I can assess where I have been and where I am headed. I am now trying to assign days of the week with certain types of blog posts, so that I can have a framework with which to publish materials. My idea is for:

Mondays – What’s going on in the (cyber) world  

This could be a curation of sorts, for interesting links and blogs that I encounter

Tuesdays – Math lesson plans

Interesting lessons, and projects that I have utilized in my classroom

Wednesdays – old school / new school

How it used to be done, (oldies but goodies) and how it can be done now (exciting new ideas)

Thursdays – The common Core(ner)

Posts and ideas linked to the common core

Fridays – making the connection

Connections of Math to the real world, other disciplines, or with other teachers

Weekends – Inspirations

Blogger’s Choice

3) Incorporate my lesson plans directly into my smart board files

I did meet this goal. I have a new fellow teacher in my school teaching 7th grade math, so between the two of us, we are creating note packets for the students in word, with a set template, and it is very easy to create smart board files based on these files.

4) Organize my documents folder, including deleting all unnecessary files

The lululemon manifesto   www.lululemon.com

The lululemon manifesto http://www.lululemon.com

Ummmmm…didn’t exactly happen. Actually, I am not even going to pretend that this will happen. My plan will be to start off next school year with a fresh new yearly folder and maintain it in an organized manner. I will copy over any good lesson files from previous years, and just leave the old files and folders.

5) Read the lululemon manifesto (see above) once a week  

Admittedly corny, but I still like the ideas – drinking fresh water (check); do one thing a day that scares you (once a month? Check) Sweat once a day (every other day? check) and more. Did not revisit once a week. I am going to drop this goal, even though I agree with the manifesto.

6) Use the three act math lessons from Dan Meyer

I met this goal. I experimented with the three act lessons several times. I am a huge fan, and a huge fan of Dan Meyer in general. I initially tried them in a math station format, and the students were not really sure how to use the lessons. They were not really eager to read directions on how to run the three act lesson. I found better success by running the lessons as a whole group and teacher led and choreographed.

7) Contribute to and add to the three act math lessons

I have not met this goal, but I am still going to keep this as a goal. I have explored the adobe video programs that I need to acquire to make the videos as professional looking as Dan’s. This will require some time and effort.

8) Create a new project based learning module – hopefully dealing with using YouTube videos (just pop culture, etc, rated G) and teasing out mathematical learning from these

I have not met this goal, but I still like the idea of the creative possibilities with this. I am going to put this goal in the parking lot for now; I have some new goals to reach 🙂

9) Learn more about social media in learning

I have learned quite a bit about social media in learning. I will continue to learn more and to use more social media with my students.

10) Develop an educational app related to math education

Oh, this is still a lofty goal that I have. I will keep this goal but realize that it is a long term product that will take much learning and collaboration. I would like this to be a type of global collaborating tool for students to interact and learn mathematics together. To this end, I am planning to learn the applications that are available for programming and app creation. As a first step, I will be teaching and encouraging students to program and to create apps.

11) Add to my flipped classroom videos (personalized, not found on the internet). Have students get involved. Create effective differentiated, organized and effective classroom activities in conjunction with the videos.

Done!  Will continue this practice, and continue to improve my videos.

12) Maintain and improve my wikispace

Done.

PERSONAL GOALS

1) Stay connected with family and friends and tell them often how much I love and appreciate them

Done. Will continue to do.  An easy goal for me!

2) Write down three things I am grateful for each and every day

Oops. Did not do this, but I know that this is such an important activity to do each day. I need to create a small notebook used just for this purpose.IMG_4077

3) Plan a trip to Europe

Done!  Planned and executed! The trip of my lifetime, so far. My oldest daughter and I traveled to the Amalfi Coast of Italy last summer and it was amazing!  Rick Steves was my “goto” for advice and his research and advice were spot on. We had a wonderful memorable vacation! I will need to blog about our experiences.

4) Continue my exercise routine, including cardio and weight training

Done and will continue! IMG_0085

5) Learn how to live alone, yet not lonely

Getting there. I think I am there. I still struggle with being alone, though. While I would rather be alone than with the wrong person, I still maintain the hope that I will meet the perfect significant other to make my life more joyful. But I am doing a pretty decent job of finding joy without having met this goal. And really, I am not alone. I have Dante, my 7 pound yorkie poo as my constant companion.

6) Read the lululemon manifesto (see above) once a week

Okay, I must admit that this is corny…..

7) Find a new volunteer opportunity

Have not found the right outlet yet for me. I really enjoyed Special Olympics, but it just does not fit into my schedule. Does organizing a school wide Pi day celebration, advising on the yearbook and MathCounts coach count?

8) Continue with creative writing (comedy)

Have not done this. I have read what I had started and it can still make me laugh. I think this one will be voted (by me) the least likely to get done.

9) Learn Laughter Yoga

Have not done this. Would like to pursue this one. I think I could seriously (no pun intended) be a successful laughter yoga instructor. It would just be a matter of finding the time to fit it in with all my other pursuits. Maybe this could be my volunteer activity…..

10) Remind myself to Love more and expect less

Always remind myself. I do well on remembering to tell myself this, but I personally struggle with this. I am learning, and on the right road to lower expectations and just let things be as they should be.

11) Keep my Pinterest boards organized and useful

Did, done and continue to do. I have also created some shared Pinterest boards, with success. I started, and will continue, to curate my pins. It is a never ending process.

 

 

 

About CathyJeremko

I am a New York State Master Teacher and educator with 15+ years of teaching Mathematics. I have a special interest in technology in education. I am searching for the answers to the future of education, with the understanding that the manner of educating people is exponentially changing. A prospect is associated with the words anticipation, expectation, and looking forward. I am a prospector searching and exploring for the natural resources of people and ideas to improve life through education.
This entry was posted in 21st Century Skills, Blogs, Creative Ideas, Dreams, Education, Flipped Classroom, Project Based Learning, Technology, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

