Technology Integration

IMG_2313As part of the @teachthought, #reflectiveteacher, I am blogging for day two of the 30 day challenge – “Write about one piece of technology that you would like to try this year, and why. You might also write about what you’re hoping to see out of this edtech integration.” I have done the flipped classroom in the past and I plan to try new apps to make my videos, and new platforms to post (Schoology), in the hopes of improving this delivery of instruction.

But as far as new technology, my goal will be to explore apps to use to do some standard based assessment. I am currently exploring the idea of using @10Marks, as recommended by a fellow tweeter last night as I “lurked” on the #msmathchat. The idea for standard based grading came to me from my google hangout with two other seventh grade math teachers, Paul from Florida and Bob from California. They both do forms of summative standard based grading. They inspired me to consider how I could use this with my students, but I want to explore how to do this formatively instead of summatively, and perhaps either informally, or to have the students monitor their own progress.

In addition to 10Marks, I plan to also use more of Socrative to help students to monitor their progress and understanding.

Twitter and blogging have been so great for me in the past year, and most of this benefit has been in the past few months. Twitter has just opened so many doors for me to explore new ideas and it is an exciting place to hang out for a teacher!

In doing this 30 day challenge blog, I am hoping to connect more with like minded educators!

Please weigh in on how you use technology to assess your students!

About CathyJeremko

I am a New York State Master Teacher and educator with 15+ years of teaching Mathematics. I have a special interest in technology in education. I am searching for the answers to the future of education, with the understanding that the manner of educating people is exponentially changing. A prospect is associated with the words anticipation, expectation, and looking forward. I am a prospector searching and exploring for the natural resources of people and ideas to improve life through education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

