Day 3 of Blogging Challenge!

Day 3     book title

 

Discuss one “observation” area that you would like to improve on for your teacher evaluation.

For the @TeachThought 30 day blogging challenge, (http://bit.ly/1lfur2X), I am asked to respond to the question above. For me, the area that I would like to improve and perfect is my questioning techniques. I want to be cognizant and improve in the quality of my questions. I want to be aware of times that I may be tempted to answer the question for the students instead of letting them struggle with the questions.

I am very good at including all students in responses, and in creating a safe environment in which students are comfortable in answering. This is half of the battle. At the end of last school year, I was given the book “Good Questions for Math Teaching: Why Ask Them, and What to Ask” by Lainie Schuster and Nancy Canavan Anderson.

I will be using this book as my basis for improvement. There are many good examples of methods to use.

teachthought

About CathyJeremko

I am a New York State Master Teacher and educator with 15+ years of teaching Mathematics. I have a special interest in technology in education. I am searching for the answers to the future of education, with the understanding that the manner of educating people is exponentially changing. A prospect is associated with the words anticipation, expectation, and looking forward. I am a prospector searching and exploring for the natural resources of people and ideas to improve life through education.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 3 of Blogging Challenge!

  1. Beth Leidolf says:

    my area that I wrote about as well…the book looks interesting!

Leave a Reply

