Day 4 of the Blogging Challenge! Top ten things I love most about Teaching!

“Love without courage and wisdom is sentimentality, as with the ordinary church member. Courage without love and wisdom is foolhardiness, as with Blogger Challenge Badge 2014the ordinary soldier. Wisdom without love and courage is cowardice, as with the ordinary intellectual. But the one who has love, courage, and wisdom moves the world.” –Ammon Hennacy (Catholic activist, 1893-1970)

This quote resonates with me and to me defines what I love about my calling as a teacher. It is the perfect mixture of love, courage and wisdom reflected in the pursuit of using my time, efforts and talents to make a difference, one student at a time. So today’s post is the top ten things I love most about Teaching:

10.  The connections that are made with students. Knowing that in some way I have been a positive influence in the lives of my students.

9. The opportunity to be a life long learner. I have lots of opportunities to expand my knowledge in science and mathematics, in order to impart this to others.

8. The chance to work with an awesome group of dedicated professionals, who truly care about the betterment of society; who are not in a career for personal gain or high salaries. What a great feeling to work with a group of capable adults in a truly collaborative environment, not a competitive one.

7. Teaching is fun! In what other career can do I have a captive audience to laugh at my never give upsilliness!

6. Learning from those who are struggling with content, and observing their perseverance.

5. Being challenged by students who stretch my knowledge and enthusiasm for the subject matter.

4. Yearly opportunities to start afresh; and to reflect on a year that is ending.

3. The opportunities to be creative! The challenge of keeping my students engaged

2.  The satisfaction in seeing a student’s face light up when they have finally mastered a new concept or skill.

1. The smile I see on the face of a former student when they see me out in public!

 

About CathyJeremko

I am a New York State Master Teacher and educator with 15+ years of teaching Mathematics. I have a special interest in technology in education. I am searching for the answers to the future of education, with the understanding that the manner of educating people is exponentially changing. A prospect is associated with the words anticipation, expectation, and looking forward. I am a prospector searching and exploring for the natural resources of people and ideas to improve life through education.
This entry was posted in Dreams, Education, General Education and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

